Thursday, June 18, 2015

If You Love Jane Austen

 

 

 

Rain, rain and more rain around here and it's got me a little down. I want to be outside in June, because it is usually such a lovely sunny month, with milder temperatures. So, my reading wish list has been looked at and a book perfect for a rainy day has been ordered to read on my iPad.

Emma, A Modern Retelling was first brought to my attention by a blogging friend Cosy Carolina and the concept of the book intrigued me. I have read some other modern retellings of Jane Austen's books and there are quite a few out there. But, they are mostly based on Pride and Prejudice. It has been a long time since I read Emma, but recently watched the movie with Gwyneth Paltrow and it is fabulous and filled with wit. I thought the story could really work in the modern world.

So far, just a few chapters in, I am liking it very much. Emma is up to her signature match making ways and life in an English village is the center of the story. Alexander McCall Smith has an elegant and old world writing style that suits the story. Jane Austen would be a fan.

 

5 comments:

  1. Nothing but endless rain here and I have been rereading my favourite classics. I think I'll see if I can get this and go for a new twist on an old friend.

    ReplyDelete
  2. We have finally been dry for a couple of days. I've heard good things about that book!

    ReplyDelete
  3. We're having a lot of rain, too. Thanks for the suggestion, I'll put it I my list.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Sounds very interesting! I've got my head stuck into a gardening book I've been waiting to read.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I need to find this book! Your idea of a rainy summer day sounds like mine.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for reading!
I would love to hear from you, so I can get to know you better :-)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

family, books, gardening, simple DIY projects, golf, up north, msu football, football saturday tailgates, detroit red wings, detroit tigers, walking with my dog, trying new recipes, musicals, BBC, pedicures with my daughters, martinis, pinterest

Search This Blog

Sent to your inbox

BBC (15) blog (22) books (121) christmas (62) cocktails (34) Diabetes (57) DIY (95) downsizing (16) empty nest (72) entertaining (50) faith (20) family (104) florida (4) food (209) friends (105) gardening (67) health and beauty (8) home (127) life (383) movies (9) my daughters (134) nature (48) pinterest (94) pinterest success (47) puppy (25) reality tv (36) recipe redo (8) repurpose (2) sewing (4) shopping (22) sports (59) tv and movies (69) walking (41) wedding (2)

 

Designed By:

Munchkin Land Designs Elements by Meta Wulandari
Friends of Pfister
 
Designed by Munchkin Land Designs • Copyright 2012 • All Rights Reserved